We were playing doubles and one of the players we were playing against carried the ball.
I called it a carry and we stopped play thinking that it was our point.
The lady who did the carry first stated that they were the only ones that could call a carry (the team that actually committed the carry and then went on to say that she did nothing wrong. So my first question is: Who can call a carry and my next question, is it illegal? I was always taught that you could not carry the ball with your racquet but she stated the rule has been changed. Can you please clarify?
KAUFMAN: As long as it is not deliberate with a deliberate second swing, and the swing is one motion, then it is a legal shot even if the ball hits the racket more than once.
If it is a deliberate attempt to hit the ball twice then it is not a legal shot and the player who committed the illegal shot would call it on his/herself.
This rule on double hits changed in the 1970s.
The Code #20 and #21, Friend At Court (page 47-48)
Check out each week new ideas, tennis tips, advice,tennis gossip, & news.
All Equipment Events Instruction & Technique Instuction & Technique Introduction News News Tennis Gossipe4871d6eed New & Tennis Gossip Rules & Regulations Sports Science Sports Science Heat Illness Sports Science Hydration Sports Science Mental Training Sports Science Nutrition Spring Training Strategy Strategy Play Teenis News & Gossip Tennis News Tennis News &Gossip Tennis News & Gossip Tennis NEws & Gossip