The ITF has announced six of the eight venues for the 2010 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas World Group play-offs. Colombia, India, Israel, Kazakhstan, Romania and Sweden have all submitted their choice of venue for the play-off ties that take place alongside the semifinals on September 17-19. The tie between Israel and Austria will be held on September 16, 17 and 19 for operational reasons.

Colombia will take on the United States in its first ever World Group play-off tie at the Plaza de Toros la Santamaria in Bogota, while fellow South Americans, Ecuador and Brazil, will both be away from home. Ecuador travel to Bucharest to face Romania, while Brazil play India in Chennai. Israel will host Austria in Tel Aviv, Sweden meets Italy in Lidkoping and Kazakhstan will face Switzerland in Astana.

Tennis Australia and the German Tennis Federation (DTB) have both been granted extensions to confirm their choice of venue. All venues are subject to a successful site visit by the ITF. The winners of the play-off ties will take their place in next year’s World Group, while the losers will compete in their respective Zone Groups in 2011.

The following is a full list of September’s play-off ties:
Colombia v USA Plaza de Toros la Santamaria, Bogota, Colombia, clay (outdoors)
Israel v Austria Nokia Arena, Tel Aviv, Israel, hard (indoors)
Germany v South Africa Extension granted until 2 July
Sweden v Italy Sarbanken Lidkoping Arena, Lidkoping, Sweden, hard (indoors)
India v Brazil SDAT Tennis Stadium, Chennai, India, hard (outdoors)
Australia v Belgium Extension granted until 24 June
Kazakhstan v Switzerland National Tennis Centre, Astana, Kazakhstan, hard (indoors)
Romania v Ecuador Zone Arena, Bucharest, Romania, clay (outdoors)

Leave a Reply.